Patient & Family Resources

Parent Link

Lombardi Cancer Center's own parent-run support organization that provides a "link" for parents of newly diagnosed children with parents who have been through the diagnosis and treatment of their child. Parent Link sponsors and monitors the Lombardi Children's Cancer Online Support Group. Also, contact Marilyn Eichner at marilyneichner@verizon.net

 

Local Support Organizations:

Candlelighters Childhood Cancer Foundation:
National office - http://www.candlelighters.org/
National Capital Chapter - http://www.dccandlelighters.org/

Casey Cares Foundation - http://www.caseycaresfoundation.org/

Hemophilia Association of the Capital Area - http://www.HACAcares.org

Leukemia & Lymphoma Society:
National office - http://www.lls.org (National office)
National Capital Capter - http://www.lls.org/nca

Sickle Cell Disease Association of America (SCDAA) - http://www.sicklecelldisease.org

Sickle Cell Association of the National Capital Area - http://www.scancainc.org

Special Love for Children with Cancer - http://www.speciallove.org/

Starlight Children's Foundation - http://www.starlight.org/

 

Fertility Information:

Fertile Hope - http://www.fertilehope.org/

Fairfax Cryobank - http://www.fairfaxcryobank.com

Medical Information:

Cure Search - http://www.curesearch.org/

National Cancer Institute - http://www.cancer.gov/cancerinfo/types/childhoodcancers

National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute (NHBLI) - http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov

 

Siblings:

Supersibs - http://www.supersibs.org/

 

Summer Camps:

Camp Fantastic (Special Love for Children with Cancer) - http://www.speciallove.org/

Camp Sunshine - http://www.campsunshine.org/

First Descents (kayaking camp for young adults) - http://www.firstdescents.org/cms/

Hole in the Wall Gang Camp - http://www.holeinthewallgang.org